everchangingbutterfly

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreaming of Texas, Circuit & an okay breakfast

on September 15, 2013

The Texans football games, the baby showers, the family get-togethers, the holidays, the cool air, the facebook posts, and the pumpkin spiced flavored “everything” is making me feel so sad.  Sad may not be the most accurate word, more like a longing.  A longing to be back in Texas surrounded by my family and friends.  I was already feeling a little off, ya see,  my mom and sister visited a few weeks ago and when family comes in and leaves, the house is so empty and quiet.  Don’t get me wrong,  I don’t always mind the quiet, but there are times I wish this house of mine was full of noise.  I’d love to hear the giggles and scampering of more than one set of little feet and I would love to wake up and share a cup of coffee while talking about silly woman stuff.  Heck I’d even like to hear all the men in the family hollering at the T.V set while watching football game after football game.  I even miss the smells of food cooking, food that smells different from our own routine meals.  It’s funny because this is my favorite time of year.  I can’t get enough of the changing leaves, throwing on an old comfy sweatshirt, and putting pumpkin into every single thing I make.  Perhaps that’s changing.  Perhaps it was always the feeling I had with family around that made me love this time of year, not the pumpkins. 

Anyways, enough of the depressing (or is it HA).  After I tell you the circuit for today, you may be even more depressed :O  But you feel great afterwards.  Today all you need is your BOD, a mat, a timer and some water. This circuit is from Peanut Butter Fingers, yet again.  Get ready for none other than…BURPEES!  I hate ’em and I love ’em. For my warm-up and cool down I jogged in place for 5 minutes.  Sounds lame, but I watched the news while doing it, so it wasn’t so bad.

Burpee Sandwich Workout

As for breakfast…I tried yet again to combine the same ingredients from yesterdays breakfast.  Since yesterdays turned out so nasty, I thought I should redeem myself, but I’m not really satisfied yet again. I’m hoping that with a few little changes I can make you a delicious recipe to try.

Greek Yogurt Pecancake

 

 

Ingredients:

– 1/2 oats (instead of bread)

– 1 egg

– 1 5.3oz container of Greek Yogurt (I used vanilla Yoplait Greek) I like the fact that it only has 7 grams of sugar compared to yesterdays 21 grams (that’s why I only used half a container yesterday).

-cinnamon

-sea salt

-1 Tbsp pecans

– sugar-free syrup

First, I got out my NINJA blender – I love that thing!  I put my oats, yogurt, egg, a dash of cinnamon and sea salt in and blended it up.  I heated the griddle on medium heat and spray it with some olive oil spray.  Before pouring my batter on the griddle I added pecans to the mix.  I poured on and waited until I saw some golden browning around the outside before flipping.  I noticed even with baking powder it was rising on it’s own which I liked because I don’t like skinny pancakes.  I put some sugar-free syrup in a microwavable bowl with a dash of cinnamon, stevia and sea salt and nuked it for 30 seconds.  I flipped my pancake and threw it on a plate when I was done.  Added my syrup and took a bite.  I truly loved the consistency of the pancake.  It was soft and yummy.  However it was lacking in flavor.  I think tomorrow I should add peanut butter on top or perhaps add a slice of bacon.  It just needed some flavor.  At least it was better than yesterdays. 

Leave a Reply

