everchangingbutterfly

Just another WordPress.com site

22 Day to LOVE & ACCEPT your body…Just the way it is!

on August 27, 2013

#20. Realize that there’s no such thing as perfection.

NO! Really? I can’t be perfect? That’s a bummer; seeing as I have spent countless hours striving for perfection in every area of my life.  I have wasted so much time TRYING (the key word is TRYING) to make myself and the things around me perfect.  Here is a list of a few attempts I have made, that have always resulted in failure (in the name of perfection):

1. Attempt:  A perfectly clean house.  Failure:  There is freaking dog hair covering our wood floors, even after sweeping 3 times a day. 

2. Attempt:  A perfect wife.  Failure:  I had a melt down on Chad for not closing the windows at night before he went to bed, so Ayden wouldn’t get ready for school & was crying because he’s so stinking cold in the morning.

3. Attempt: A perfect body.  Failure:  No matter how much I try to make myself taller by countless hours of Pilates, stretching and yoga it just hasn’t happened 🙂 HA! Let’s not mention that things are constantly expanding in the booty, leg, tummy & arm regions.

4.  Attempt:  Flawless makeup.  Failure:  I looked in the mirror and saw that I not only had eyeliner smudged all of my face, but I also had chia seeds stuck in my teeth.

5.  Attempt:  A perfect mother.  Failure:  I freaked out on Ayden because for the 1,000,000th time this week he did not turn off the light after he was done in the bathroom.  Ever seen the new Karate Kid?  “PICK UP YOUR JACKET!”  This is how I feel with Ayden picking up after himself everyday!

6. Attempt:  A perfect Christian.  Failure:  I lied, I cursed, etc..and some thoughts just should not be mentioned.  Let’s just say I have pictured myself yelling and cursing at a few people that are driving me insane.  They will not take NO for an answer. 

7. Attempt:  A perfect diet.  Failure:  Last Tuesday, after eating extremely healthy for two weeks, I totally lost it and downed about a 1/4 gallon of Ayden’s birthday cake ice cream (maybe more).  But OH MAN! IT WAS GOOD! I think I may have crumbled a few oreos in it as well.

This list could go on for days, but I won’t do that to you.

Well, what can I do if I can’t be perfect?  Should I stop trying?  Should I just eat, drink, wear my pj’s all day, stop working out, yell at whomever and whatever I want?  Who care’s I can’t be perfect anyways, right?  Well, I think there is a line.  No, we can’t be perfect, but God wants us to be strive to be better.  We should strive to be the best we can be.  We only have this body for a little while and we should keep it strong, so we are able to continue doing God’s work.

 Here is a link with verses that help us see what God wants from his children http://www.abideinchrist.info/beperfect.html 

SO, LET’S ALL TAKE A BREATH AND LET IT GO! Let’s all remove the weight of perfection and admit that we can’t do it alone.  We can only do it with the strength of the Lord.  2 Corinthians 12: 9-10 says this,  “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 

If we can all remember that these bodies of ours should be treated well, but that we should not be consumed by their appearance it will be easier for us to not focus on what we lack, but instead focus on how awesome we have been made. You are not perfect, but you are perfect in Christ.

The article by Jen Knaebal says this, “Are you working out and dieting until you look perfect? Do you want the perfect legs, abs, arms, or other body part? There is no perfect body, but your body is already perfect for you. You can strive to be healthy and strong, but don’t strive for perfection. It is an unattainable goal that will only lead to feelings of disappointment and failure.”

Leave a Reply

